Studio P Innovations New Mag Loader Is Not About A Quicker Kill

I’m sure that we have all come across that moment in our lives where a friend or family member that we love dearly says something that really gets under your skin. Well, that happened to me today. I sought out advice from my husband, because he is always the more logical decision maker whereas I am the knee-jerk reactor type who automatically feels the urge to argue.

Because I love all things guns, my husband sent me a video yesterday. I loved it and thought I would share it with everyone (on Facebook) in my life. Bad move, apparently, as it wasn’t too long after that I got a snarky comment from someone we are close to.

Facebook Comment

The comment read:

Oh goodie! Now we can load & shoot to kill quicker – wow what a great advancement for mankind!

As many of you may know, I always have an opinion, and come fully loaded with points when someone wants to bring on the gun debates. Since I was discouraged from arguing with a loved one on Facebook, I felt that I could make my case here. You ready?

I would like to start by saying that there are positives and negatives to everything in life. It is possible (not probable, but possible) that someone could use this tool for horrible reasons. However, bad people can use any tool for bad things i.e. hammers, cooking knives, even tooth brushes. Instead of looking at the negatives and assuming that everyone who wants to purchase this item is looking to shoot and kill quicker, I would like to present you with the following arguments:

  • Loading a new magazine can be a challenge, especially for women like me who have ridiculously tiny hands and a magazine that seems to have no mercy. It takes me all but 30 seconds – 1 minute to empty my mag and about 2 minutes to reload it. For those who pay anywhere from $20-$80 per hour at a shooting range, not having to waste time dealing with a pesky mag means more time for quality practice. More time to practice means you’re not only getting your moneys worth, but you’re also bettering yourself. Besides, jam 17 rounds into a mag a couple dozen times and tell me that this thing doesn’t look like the greatest invention ever.
    • This argument applies not only to gun owners looking to practice, but also can contribute to training for shooting competitions, military personnel, and law enforcement.
  • Being able to load quickly means that you are less likely to be unprepared during an attack. If you’re upstairs asleep and you hear someone break into your home, what if you reach for your gun and realized your mag isn’t loaded? This makes the difference between getting one, MAYBE two rounds in, or getting 6-8 rounds in. For some, 1-2 rounds may be perfectly fine. However, people get extremely nervous in high-stress situations. You could miss your shot or there could be more than 1-2 people trying to harm you.
  • Responsible gun owners aren’t looking for a kill. That’s why we are called responsible gun owners and not criminals, serial killers, rapists, or murderers. Most of us have a firearm in the event that nothing else besides use of deadly force will work against someone trying to use deadly force against us. I am a very strong supporter of the 2nd amendment and the right to arm yourself. I own a 9mm handgun, which is solely in my possession for two reasons: Practice and Home Defense. That means that if I don’t absolutely have to use deadly force to save myself, my husband, or anyone else for that matter, then I won’t. I would die to protect my family, but what if I don’t have to? Automatically jumping to the conclusion that this was invented for the purpose of a fast kill is offensive, arrogant, and extremely annoying.
  • Where is the logic behind such a comment? Criminals/Mass Shooters show up with magazines already loaded. Think about it– would someone walk up to a movie theater concession stand, whip out their gun, and say “hold on one second while I use this nifty tool to load my magazine”? Really?
  • Obviously this was designed with range time in mind. Try using this tool without a table —  Do you think it would be as easy?

This is not designed for the purpose of providing criminals with the tools to carry out crime. This is not designed to assist mass murderers in a shooting. This is not designed just so that we can all load up faster and kill each other quicker.

Stop assuming that all gun owners are trigger-happy murderers who want to see who can kill another human being the fastest. If that is how you assume that gun owners are, well then thank heavens you don’t have one. Understand that I train myself, do my research, constantly educate myself on crime rates, gun laws, and the correlation between the two, and arm myself for the protection of myself and my family. It has nothing to do with some strange desire to harm another person. And no, I am not the only one. Some of the greatest, most caring and genuine people I have ever met have been fellow gun owners. This tool is a way for me and other gun owners to continue/advance in proper training in a way that isn’t wasting effort, time, and money. As much as I would like to live in a world where no one ever wanted to hurt, kill, or rape anyone else, that is not the reality and I want to keep myself sharp and prepared to defend my family if the horrible day ever comes where I need to. Maybe you should educate yourselves before assuming that we are all planning the next fastest way to kill someone.

8 thoughts on “Studio P Innovations New Mag Loader Is Not About A Quicker Kill

  1. Pingback: Studio P Innovations New Mag Loader Is Not About A Quicker Kill « disturbeddeputy

Leave a comment