Virtual Attacks Help With Concealed Carry Courses

Have you ever thought about what you would do in the event that someone attacks you? Most people think that everything would go so smoothly. You’ve been to the range enough times, you know how to shoot. You’ve taken the courses and you feel prepared. Sad thing is, even the best shooters can freeze up or panic during an attack. You never know how you’ll respond in a stressful, harmful, or scary situation until you’ve come face to face with one. 

In one of my previous posts, I shared my own personal experience that made me realize that I am not invincible. Let me tell you right now, I had this idea in my head before this happened of what I would do in a situation like this and I expected everything would go exactly as I had imagined in my mind. This logic is extremely arrogant and I learned that very quickly. It is the same thing when it comes to a violent attack. Each offender is different and has different plans for action. What might work on one criminal, may be a very bad move when dealing with the next. 

Luckily, the instructors at On Target Range and Tactical Center in Crystal Lake, IL decided to give their students a whole new look into what it means to carry concealed. This new training simulator generates different scenarios to help prepare students for a violent attack. 

virtual training

Not only do you have a ‘violent attacker’ running after you on a big screen, but you also have members of staff yelling and cursing at you to add to the stress of what could someday be a reality. Shift Manager Glen Carpentar claims that sweaty palms and pounding hearts are completely normal with this course. Obviously, you are not equipped with a loaded gun. With the course, students are given a laser-equipped mock up of a Glock 17 handgun. After the student is finished with the virtual course, the instructor will go over what they did right and what they didn’t. 

“It’s not just about getting their accuracy – there’s a sense of when to shoot, and when not to shoot,” Dorsch said.

2 thoughts on “Virtual Attacks Help With Concealed Carry Courses

Leave a Reply

