Shooting at the ranch: Family bonding at its finest

4 hours and 700 rounds later, it’s safe to say I had a good day.

My grandpa, my brother, and I drove out to my uncle’s ranch and began to unpack. With us we had a Beretta PX4 Storm 9mm (mine), a 9mm Beretta M9, a .22 Ruger semi-auto, a Keltec .380, and a Ruger Vaguer .45 single action revolver with a swing gate to load and unload. Though the .45 cal revolver was a REALLY nice gun, I was pretty horrible at shooting it, but man was it a beauty!

Throughout the day, my family members snapped some shots so I could share my experience with you.

Obviously, I was most comfortable with my own gun. My next favorite was the other Beretta. Everyone else seemed to have shot it too high or too low, but I was right on the money with this one. Not a surprise to me, Berettas were what I learned on. 

DSCN0976 DSCN0975

 

This target was after my first few shots using the Beretta M-9. With the .22, the 9mm, and the .45, we shot from between 7 and 10 yards. We had to get a little creative because it was crazy muddy after we drove the truck out there. (Sorry my target pictures are sideways).

DSCN0973

DSCN0972 DSCN0933

Me holding the Ruger .22

DSCN1042

Here is me holding my favorite out of my grandpa’s collection, the Beretta M-9.

DSCN1041

 Final picture is of me holding the .45 revolver.

DSCN1038

This is my target shooting with the .45. I hit a few on the target but that took some getting used to. Most of what I shot was too low. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to practice more!

DSCN1036

 

Finally, to wrap up the day, I picked up a Keltec .380. I have to say, this gun was far from my favorite. It is very snappy and hurt my thumb. Obviously it is not a target practice gun and would get the job done in a self-defense situation, but shooting this all day would not be fun at all.

DSCN1037  So I went back to my Beretta and decided to tear up one final target. 

DSCN1023Screen shot 2014-07-13 at 9.52.24 PMDSCN1010

3 thoughts on “Shooting at the ranch: Family bonding at its finest

  1. Glad you had a good time, Tina. A 9mm is a wonderful handgun. Of all you fired, though, I’m partial to the .45, especially the SAA Peacemaker style you’re pictured with above. Those are some of the finest guns made – and accurate.

    What I like about the 9mm’s is that not only are they a good round for stopping someone, but also for the generally high capacity magazines. That’s ALWAYS a comfort when things go wrong.

Leave a Reply

