Introduction

Hello everyone!

This is officially my first post of Heels and Handguns! Welcome and I hope you stay!

I have created this blog as a way to discuss all things handguns. One of my main focuses on this blog will be guns for women. I’ve met a lot of women who have never even touched a gun. Why? Fear. People are afraid of guns. Trust me, I’ve been there too and I understand. Guns are pretty scary if placed in the hands of a criminal or someone who doesn’t know what they are doing. All the more reason to know how to protect yourself.

Learning how to protect yourself, especially as a woman, is crucial. There won’t always be someone there to protect you. Growing up, women tend to have it engraved in their minds that men will come to their rescue. I trust my husband with my life but I have to be realistic in the fact that he isn’t by my side at every hour of every day. He couldn’t be even if he wanted to, nor should he be. I want to be able to live my life knowing that if it came down to it I could depend on myself if I were ever in trouble. I’m sure that brings him comfort knowing that as well. You’re probably thinking now that you could just call the police, right?

Why should I get a handgun when I can call the police?

Do you know what the average response time for a 911 call is? 11 minutes. Do you know how long it takes for an intruder to rob/murder/rape/injure you? 90 seconds. Even the fastest response time recorded of 4 minutes would still be too late. This is assuming you even have the opportunity to call 911.

There is this false sense of security that the police can immediately come to the rescue and save the day. You see it in the movies all the time right? Let me ask you something. How does it feel to constantly put the safety of your life in a stranger’s hands? Other than the fact that it is their job, what makes you think that they have any concern for your life over their own? And who would blame them?

You may be thinking now I’ll just hide until they arrive or I’ll use mace. Let me stop you right there. I told you the shortest response time for a 911 call. Now let me tell you that the longest is 1 hour. If the intruder knows you are home, do you really think they won’t be able to find you in an hour? Let’s skip to mace. While mace is painful, it is also very irritating and could anger the intruder further. Just because you spray them with mace, doesn’t mean they are going to fall to the ground in agonizing pain while you run out the door and scream for help. Not to mention, most cans require a close proximity to actually harm the offender.

What do I do now?

I am not saying go out and buy a gun right this second. That would be very ignorant on both of our parts. If you purchase a gun you don’t know how to use, that is about as dangerous as if you walked right up to the intruder. My advice to you at this point would be to sign up for a course. I will be taking an NRA Women’s Only course next week and will walk you through what to expect when/if you decide.

All in all, being a woman gives you more of a reason to learn how to protect yourself, not less of one. Go to safety courses, get educated, and get armed.

Be proud to sport your heels and your handgun. You may need it someday.

5 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. “I am not saying go out and buy a gun right this second.”

    And be especially careful in taking advice from so-called experts (gun shop employees often try to sell women a snub-nose revolver which in reality is a weapon for an expert in my view – just saying).

    “I will be taking an NRA Women’s Only course next week and will walk you through what to expect when/if you decide.”

    Looking forward to it.

    In target shooting it is a well known (or well denied – take your pick) fact that often women will learn faster because they don’t come to the table needing to un-learn a lot of bad habits they got earlier in life lacking really good training.

    My wife may someday get a concealed carry permit (I have one). My conundrum is to find a handgun that will work for her. She has arthritis and pulling back the slide on a Glock (I have some of those too) is a little too difficult for her. Most good revolvers I have ever had have a pretty heavy trigger pull which takes quite a bit of practice to use well, especially with the primitive sights most come with (mine has a laser in the grips for sighting which makes life a lot easier for my old eyes). Might just go with the Glock anyway, one with large capacity, and I can make sure it is loaded for her before she goes out with it. 🙂

    Hopefully in the NRA course you will at least get a chance to try some different models. Hit up any friend or acquaintance you have to try their gun – the more you try the better idea what works for you.

    Also as a woman you should really read Gavin de Becker’s book “The Gift of Fear.” I don’t think he is pro-gun at all, but he gives great advice and insight on trusting your intuition to not get in danger in the first place (good read for men too).

    Looking forward to your future articles. I agree with just about everything you said about why a person might need and want to own a gun.

    regards,

    lwk

    • Thank you for the comment lwk! My goal is to try several guns before purchasing. I am leaning more towards a semi-auto instead of a revolver for a number of reasons, but you probably know just as well as I do that the semi vs revolver debate has been going on for some time. I had a pretty difficult experience with my first time shooting a my dad’s handgun. I’m not too sure of the brand but it had a 20 pound trigger. God forbid I ever got into real trouble, my little fingers could barely shoot it! Once I was finally able to apply enough pressure to it, my aim was completely off which could be really dangerous. After that, I assumed that’s how all guns were and became completely discouraged. It was only recently that I realized some have lighter triggers and less recoil so I figured this time I will go through all the steps and hope for the best.

      I will look into the book you recommended, I am always up for a good read!

      • “I am leaning more towards a semi-auto instead of a revolver for a number of reasons, but you probably know just as well as I do that the semi vs revolver debate has been going on for some time.”

        Revolver vs. auto, Glock vs. 1911, some debates never end. 🙂

        My primary reason for carrying a J-Frame (snubnose) revolver is that it is small, lightweight, and very easy to conceal compared to many autos like the Glock. In 38 Spl. it has more “stopping power” I think than a 380 (where you can get some highly concealable autos). And of course I have a lot of experience with them and after a whole lot of rounds through the S&W the pull is just fine, if heavy, but I am used to that so it doesn’t feel quite to heavy to me probably.

        But like I said earlier, I would not recommend them to folks without a lot of prior revolver experience. That said I am thinking of the new Glock 42 in 380 which is small and should conceal easily. I am just a tad concerned though about the 380’s power. Haven’t made up my mind.

        “…my dad’s handgun. I’m not too sure of the brand but it had a 20 pound trigger…”

        I can sympathize. Many years ago a female acquaintance asked me to help her get a gun for self protection. At the time I was still of the mindset that a snubbie was a good choice. But when I saw just how hard it was for her to pull the trigger I realized there was a substantial difference between her hand strength and mine. After thousands of rounds downrange with my revolver I don’t notice it being that heavy. But for her it would have been a disaster. So led her to the Glocks and she bought a 26. As far as I know that is still working ok for her.

        “After that, I assumed that’s how all guns were and became completely discouraged.”

        The trigger pull on all my Glocks is quite reasonable 4-5 lbs they advertise I think. In fact it is so “reasonable” that when I first started shooting them I would sometimes fire a round and as it reloaded coming down from recoil (the slide stripping off a new round and then slamming shut) I sometimes accidentally pulled off a second unintended round. What worked for me was learning to hold the trigger back when I fired a round and not letting it go forward at all until I was ready. Discovered then that as the trigger goes forward hear/feel a “click” and is ready to fire again _without_ the trigger going all the way forward. Almost feels like shooting single action and you can get off “double taps” very easily with that technique. Not something I had ever learned with a revolver! 🙂

        Gool luck with your class and shopping. I certainly agree with your idea of getting an auto. Try a Glock 26 or the new 42 as possible candidates. People either love or hate a Glock. Not much in the middle. 🙂

        Regards,

        lwk

      • Also meant to tell you this as a way of learning about some possible guns. Go to youtube and search for videos from “hickok45” – he’s an old geezer like me, but he can shoot pretty good and his videos are helpful. So at youtube you might type in something like “hickok45 glock 26” for example. He is not a movie star, but he knows what he is talking about.

        regards,

        lwk

      • That is actually really good advice. I have been watching his videos recently and even posted some under my “media” tab up at the top.

Leave a Reply

